In this Edition... Back to School

With many Missouri schools starting the new school year this month, it’s important to learn about all the programs and services the Department provides the youth in our state. This issue features the acceptable work hours for youth during the school year and a scholarship opportunity for youth whose parents have been injured or lost their life on the job.

Subscribe to Labor Link

Transitioning from Summer Work to School Work

Transitioning from Summer Work to School Work

Students across the state will be headed back to school soon and will have to transition from working longer hours to shorter hours. One of the first great experiences during the teenage years is the first job. While teenagers may enjoy the independence of working their first job and earning a paycheck, it is still crucial that they spend plenty of time studying and keep up with schoolwork. The Missouri Division of Labor Standards closely works with Missouri employers, parents and school superintendents to ensure young workers are safe and healthy while on the job.

Below is a chart of appropriate work hours for youth during the summer and during the school year:

Acceptable Work Hours for 14 and 15 Year Olds
While School is in Session While School is NOT in Session

7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

7 a.m. to 9 p.m.*

No more than 8 hours on non-school days.
No more than 3 hours on school days.

No more than 8 hours on non-school days.
No more than 3 hours on school days.

No more than 6 days a week

No more than 6 days a week (40 hours a week)

If you are employing a student during the school year, be sure and fill out the appropriate work certificate or permit.

Missouri's Child Labor Law applies to youth under the age of 16. Youth under 14 years of age generally are not permitted to work at any job (other than in entertainment or casual jobs) at any time. Youth who are 14 or 15 generally are permitted to work, but their work (as well as the work of all children in the entertainment industry) is restricted. Youth are also allowed to do agricultural work on family farms. Read Missouri Law (RSMo 294) regarding child labor.

Some restrictions of work for all ages under 16 include:

  • Door-to-door sales (excluding churches, schools, scouts)
  • Operating hazardous equipment including ladders, scaffolding, freight elevators, cranes, hoisting machines, man lifts, etc.
  • Handling/maintaining power-driven machinery: Meat processing machines, Dough mixers/baking machines, Bread or bagel slicers, Paper balers or paper box compactors
  • Working in freezers or meat coolers including taking inventory or cleaning
  • Cooking, baking, or handling hot oil or grease
  • Mining, quarrying, or stone cutting/polishing (except in jewelry stores)
  • Operation of any motor vehicle

For a complete list of acceptable work for youth, visit our Youth Employment page.

The Division of Labor Standards provides Missouri employers, parents, school officials, and youth with information about workplace safety and health program management, child labor laws, and youth and employer rights and responsibilities by conducting training presentations.

Read More...

Read Less...

Providing Scholarships for Youth

Providing Scholarships for Youth

When there is an accident or fatality, the family is left behind to carry on. Kids' Chance of Missouri is an organization that provides post-high school educational scholarships to children of workers seriously injured or killed in work-related accidents.

The loss of a primary wage earner in the family may result in scarce funds available for dependents to achieve higher education goals and may lower the child's life earning potential. The Kids' Chance Scholarship Fund provides scholarships based upon needs from children who may not otherwise attain further training or education to gain skills and improved career paths.

The scholarship application includes submitting a questionnaire, letters of recommendation, a narrative of the parent’s accident, and documentation of the accident and tax return information. The deadline for the spring semester scholarship is October 30.

Kids’ Chance of Missouri hosts several events to raise money for the scholarship fund including a golf tournament during the Department’s Workers’ Compensation Conference. The next event will be the Kansas City Golf Tournament at the Oakwood Country Club. If you would like to donate to the Kids’ Chance of Missouri scholarship fund, please visit the donation page.

For more information about Kids' Chance of Missouri, go to www.mokidschance.org.

Read More...

Read Less...