FOR PRESS INQUIRIES, CONTACT: Amy Susan (573) 751-1518
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: March 17, 2011
Dept. Approves First Line of Duty Claims to Assist Survivors
$50K Sent to Missouri Families
Jefferson City, Mo— The Missouri Labor Department’s Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) mailed the first checks to families of loved ones killed in the line of duty after approving the two claims filed in 2010. These Missouri families each received $25,000 from the Line of Duty Compensation fund, for a total of $50,000.
“This is significant as it is the first time for our state to compensate families for their loss through this fund,” says Department Director Larry Rebman. “By no means could this money replace those individuals who put their lives on the line to protect the well being of our neighborhoods and communities, however, we hope this small token can assist with the financial hardships families experience when losing a loved one.”
This money was made possible through the Line of Duty Compensation Fund established by the Missouri Legislature in 2009, to pay tribute to the brave men and women who made great sacrifices by serving in the line of duty every day to ensure the safety of our citizens. Since the inception of the fund, five claims for compensation have been filed and two, so far, have been approved by the DWC for payment.
Benefits are available for survivors of firefighters, volunteer firefighters, law enforcement officers, air ambulance pilots, air ambulance registered professional nurses, and emergency medical technicians who are killed in the line of duty when:
Upon approval by the Division, a $25,000 death benefit shall be awarded to the estate of the individual killed in the line of duty. At the conclusion of the investigation, the Division Director makes a determination approving benefits to the claimant. The death benefit is in addition to any other pension rights, death benefits, or other compensation to which the claimant may otherwise be entitled to by law. For more information about the fund or to file a Line of Duty Compensation Claim, visit http://www.labor.mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/survivor_benefits.asp#TOI6. Claims must be filed with the DWC no later than one year from the date of death.
Information and Planning · 421 East Dunklin
· P.O. Box 504 · Jefferson City, MO
573-751-7500 · 573-751-6552 (Fax)
Relay Missouri: 1-800-735-2966 (TDD) 1-800-735-2466 (Voice)