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This is a summary of the general provisions of the Missouri Workers’ 
Compensation Law. For additional information, contact an information 
specialist at the Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) at 800-775-
2667.
IMPORTANT: This pamphlet is not a complete statement of the workers’ 
compensation law. It should not be relied on to answer your legal questions. 
The workers’ compensation statutes will apply to determine the facts regarding 
your injury.
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Work Related Injuries

A work-related injury is a 
traumatic experience. 

If you are injured 
on the job or have 
been exposed to an 
occupational disease in 
the course and scope 
of your employment, 
the Missouri Workers’ 
Compensation law can 
provide some relief 
from the worry and 
financial strain of being 
injured and possibly off 
work.

Missouri law requires 
most employers to carry 
insurance, which pays for 
medical treatment and lost 
benefits for employees who 
are injured on the job. The 
law requires prompt payment 
of benefits at no cost to you 
if you sustain a work-related 
injury covered under the law.

**IMPORTANT – Workers’ compensation is intended to be a 
streamlined benefits system, but many workers’ compensation cases 
can be extremely complicated. Your workers’ compensation case can 
affect your entitlement to social security benefits, Medicare benefits or 
unemployment compensation benefits. Before you make any decision 
on settling your workers’ compensation case, you should read all the 
information available to you on our website or consult an attorney. 
Attorneys who regularly practice workers’ compensation law often 
offer a free initial consultation (see back for attorney referral contact 
information).



Workers Covered Under the 
Missouri Workers’ Compensation Law
If you are employed in the construction industry, your employer must 
have workers’ compensation insurance, if the employer has one or more 
employees. Employers in other types of business must carry insurance if 
they have five or more employees. Railroad, postal and maritime workers 
are covered by federal laws.

Exemptions

The Missouri Workers’ Compensation Law does not apply to 
employment of farm labor, domestic servants in private homes, 
occasional labor performed for private households, qualified real estate 
agents and direct sellers, certain unpaid volunteers, certain inmates and 
certain individuals working for amateur youth programs.

Covered Injuries
An injury must arise out of and in the course of employment. All injuries 
or occupational diseases must meet the standard of the accident or 
occupational exposure being “the prevailing factor,” in causing both the 
resulting medical condition and disability. Injuries for which the cause is 
unknown, a personal condition, or other injuries that happen on their own 
with no connection to the workplace, are not covered. Most injuries that 
occur when the employee is going to and from work are excluded.

Steps to Take When Injured on the Job
Report your injury. 
Report any injury immediately to your employer or 
supervisor. Failure to report your injury to your employer 
within 30 days of an accident or 30 days from the date 

of the diagnosis of an occupational disease or repetitive trauma 
may jeopardize your 
ability to receive workers’ 
compensation benefits. 
Notify your employer in 
writing about the injury – 
including the nature of the 
injury, where and when it 
occurred and the name and 
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address of the person injured. If your employer has an Accident or 
Injury Report form, use it. If your employer does not have an Accident 
or Injury Report form, the Division of Workers’ Compensation has a 
form on its website, Form WC-280, “Report Your Workplace Injury/
Occupational Disease or Repetitive Trauma Injury,” that may be used 
to provide written notice to your employer, available at: labor.mo.gov/
sites/labor/files/pubs_forms/WC-280-AI.pdf. This form should be 
given to your employer – not the Division of Workers Compensation. 
Keep a copy of the notice you give to your employer for your records.* 
Reporting your injury to your employer does not necessarily mean 
that you have an open Claim for Compensation with the Division of 
Workers; Compensation.

Medical treatment. If you need to see a doctor for treatment 
as the result of an injury on the job, you should tell your 
employer that you want to see a doctor. Under Missouri law, 
the employer has the right to select the treating doctor in 

workers’ compensation cases. Your employer or supervisor should 
arrange medical treatment and file the necessary reports with the 
Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC).

Visit labor.mo.gov/DWC for additional information about the 
benefits available to you or the steps you may have to take in 
order to receive benefits.

*After your employer files the First Report of Injury with the DWC, you should 
receive a letter from the DWC. The “Notification of Rights” letter will be sent to 
you if your injury results in lost time from work. If you do not lose time from work 
due to the injury, you will be sent a “Medical-Only” letter. If you believe you have 
not received that letter in a timely fashion, please contact an information specialist 
at 800-775-2667.

Benefits Available
•	 Medical care – All costs for authorized medical testing and treatment, 

prescriptions and medical devices are covered. There is no deductible 
and all costs are paid by your employer or its workers’ compensation 
insurance company. If you do receive a bill, contact your employer or 
its insurer immediately.

	 The employer has the right to choose the treating physician or other 
healthcare provider. The employer and its workers’ compensation 
insurance company generally are not required to pay for treatment you 
seek or select without their authorization. However, the employer and 
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insurer may authorize you to see your own doctor. You should check 
with the employer and its insurance company with respect to any 
medical treatment you seek.

	 If you are required to go to an authorized medical provider at a 
place outside of the local or metropolitan area from your principal 
place of employment, you are entitled to payment for necessary and 
reasonable expenses. These are typically 
related to transportation costs. In no event 
is the employer or insurer required to pay 
transportation costs of more than 250 miles 
each way from the place of treatment.

	 In addition, the employer or insurer may 
offer physical rehabilitation services to assist you in returning to work. 
This is a type of medical treatment – for example, physical therapy to 
strengthen muscles.

•	 Payment for lost wages – Most injuries only keep you from working 
temporarily and you may be eligible for temporary total disability 
payments. If the doctor says that you are unable to return to work 
due to your injuries or you are off work recovering from a surgery, 
you may be entitled to temporary total disability (“TTD”) benefits. 
If the doctor states you can perform light or modified duty work and 
your employer offers you such work, you may not be eligible for TTD 
benefits. If you return to light or modified duty at less than full pay, the 
workers’ compensation law requires that temporary partial disability 
(“TPD”) benefits are paid to you. Temporary disability benefits 
should be continued until the doctor says that you can return to work 
without restrictions or when your treatment is concluded because your 
condition has reached “maximum medical improvement,” whichever 
occurs first.

•	 Compensation for permanent disability – Once a doctor has 
determined that you have reached maximum medical improvement 
(you have recovered as much as possible), and you have a permanent 
disability, you may be entitled to receive a permanent disability 
payment.

¡	 Permanent partial disability (PPD) means your work injury affects 
your ability to perform some jobs or work tasks, and you are still 
able to work at some job (not necessarily the job you had at the time 
of your injury). You may receive a lump sum payment based on the 
nature and extent of the disability.
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¡	 Permanent total disability (PTD) means you no longer are able 
to work at any job. If your last work-related injury alone causes 
your permanent total disability, you may be entitled to weekly 
payments for life from your employer or its insurer, or you may 
want to negotiate a lump sum settlement instead of a weekly lifetime 
payment.

•	 Compensation Rate – Your compensation rate is based on your 
wages at the time of your injury. The amount of the weekly payment 
is 66 2/3 percent of the injured workers average weekly wage, not to 
exceed a maximum amount set by law. For temporary total disability 
(“TTD”) benefits, permanent total disability (“PTD”) benefits or death 
benefits, the maximum amount an employee can receive is 105 percent 
of the state average weekly wage. For permanent partial disability 
(“PPD”) benefits, the maximum amount is 55 percent of the state 
average weekly wage. Workers’ compensation payments are tax-free 
by federal law.

•	 Survivor benefits – If you die due to a compensable, work-related 
accidental injury or occupational disease, the surviving dependents may 
receive weekly death benefits paid at 66 2/3 percent of your average 
weekly wage as of the date of the injury, not to exceed the maximum 
amount set by law. If you die from a compensable accidental injury or 
occupational disease, the employer is required by law to pay funeral 
expenses up to $5,000. For additional information about these benefits, 
visit labor.mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/survivor_benefits. For 
information on college scholarship opportunities for surviving children, 
visit mokidschance.org/.

•	 Waiting Period – No TTD compensation is paid for the first three 
days an authorized medical provider takes you off work unless your 
total disability lasts longer than 14 days. If your total disability lasts 
longer than 14 days, payment for the first three days must be made 
retroactively to you.

•	 Additional benefits for occupational diseases due to toxic 
exposure – A change in the law, effective January 1, 2014, provides 
for enhanced benefit payments if it is shown that an employee is 
permanently and totally disabled (or has died) due to an occupational 
disease resulting from toxic exposure (defined as: mesothelioma, 
asbestosis, berylliosis, coal worker’s pneumoconiosis, brochiolitis, 
obliterans, silicosis, silicotuberculosis, manganism, acute myelogenous 
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leukemia and myelodysplastic syndrome). The benefits payable by the 
employer for claims filed on or after January 1, 2014, are very specific 
and can be found at labor.mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/benefits_
available#AddOccDis. Additional information on occupational diseases 
can be found at labor.mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/occ_disease.

Problems Receiving Benefits
If you think you have not received all benefits due to you, contact your 
employer or the insurance company. If the problem cannot be resolved, you 
may wish to take advantage of the dispute management service provided 
by the DWC, have a conference before an administrative law judge or file 
a Claim for Compensation. Visit labor.mo.gov/DWC for a claim form or 
you may obtain the form at any DWC office.

The dispute management service is a voluntary, informal mediation process 
to help the parties arrive at a resolution (see back for contact information).

For additional information about a settlement, filing a claim or other 
workers’ compensation questions, please call 800-775-2667.

PLEASE NOTE: the information specialists cannot 
act as your legal counsel and cannot give you legal 
advice. The information specialist can provide you 
with general information but cannot advise you 
whether the settlement offer is appropriate for your 
injury. Please keep in mind that no employee of 
the Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation 
can give you legal advice or act as your lawyer or 
adviser. The decisions you make regarding your workers’ compensation case may 
impact you for the rest of your life. While you are not required by law to have 
a lawyer, you may need a lawyer. For more information on obtaining a lawyer, 
please visit labor.mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/obt_lawyer.
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Second Injury Fund
Missouri’s Second Injury Fund (SIF) may also help an injured worker 
when a current work-related injury combines with a prior disability to 
create an increased combined disability. A change in the law, effective 
January 1, 2014, makes significant changes to the benefits payable 
by the SIF for injuries occurring on or after January 1, 2014, in that 
benefits are payable only for physical rehabilitation and permanent total 
disability. For more information, visit labor.mo.gov/DWC/Division_
Units/SIF_Unit/sif_home.

https://labor.mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/benefits_available#AddOccDis
https://labor.mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/benefits_available#AddOccDis
https://labor.mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/occ_disease
https://labor.mo.gov/DWC/Division_Units/SIF_Unit/sif_home
https://labor.mo.gov/DWC/Division_Units/SIF_Unit/sif_home
https://labor.mo.gov/dwc
https://labor.mo.gov/DWC/Injured_Workers/obt_lawyer


Timeline for Filing a Claim

What Happens After a Claim is Filed
1.	The employer and its workers’ compensation insurer have 30 days after 

the Division acknowledges receipt of the Claim to file Form WC-22, 
a document entitled, “Answer to the Claim for Compensation.” The 
Answer is prepared by a lawyer representing the employer and its 
workers’ compensation insurer. Corporations and Limited Liability 
Companies (LLC’s) must be represented by lawyers admitted to 
practice law in Missouri, in all proceedings before the Division of 
Workers’ Compensation and beyond. The Answer will either admit 
or deny the allegations or statements you made in the Claim. Any 
“denial” contained in an Answer is a contention being made by the 
employer/insurer’s lawyer. It is not a ruling from the Division of 
Workers’ Compensation’s Administrative Law Judge (ALJ).

2. 	If a claim is being made against the Second Injury Fund, the Missouri 
Attorney General’s Office also has 30 days after the Division 
acknowledges receipt of the Claim to file Form WC-22, Answer to the 
Claim for Compensation, on behalf of the Missouri State Treasurer, the 
Custodian of the Second Injury Fund. Again, the Answer will either 
admit or deny the statements you made in the claim. 

3.	Any party may request a Pre-Hearing Conference or Mediation to 
discuss the issues in the case and attempt to resolve them. Request 
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If you decide to file a claim, the 
Division must receive the claim:

•	 Within two years after the date of the injury or 
death or, if payment was made on account of your 
workers’ compensation injury or death, within two 
years after the last benefit payment was made, or

•	 If the employer does not timely file a Report of 
Injury with the Division, within three years from 
the date of injury or death, or last payment was 
made on account of the injury or death.



for Pre-Hearing Conference and Mediation forms are available on the 
Division’s website labor.mo.gov/DWC or from any of the Division’s 
local adjudication offices.

4.	If all of the issues cannot be settled, you, the employer and insurer, or 
the Second Injury Fund may request an evidentiary hearing, or trial, 
to determine whether the employee is eligible for the benefits being 
sought. This is a non-jury trial in which the civil rules of evidence 
apply and you have the responsibility to prove most issues. The 
evidentiary hearing is held before one of the ALJs who issues a written 
decision that is called an award.  

5. 	A party dissatisfied with the ALJ’s award may seek review from 
the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission (LIRC). From the 
LIRC, there may be an appeal to the Missouri Court of Appeals, with 
occasional appeals to the Missouri Supreme Court. 

Additional Information
If you need more information, you may ask your employer or the workers’ 
compensation claims representative of the employer’s insurer. The name, 
address and phone number of the insurer or claims administrator must be 
posted at the workplace. You can also talk to an information specialist 
at the DWC. For additional information about the dispute management 
service, filing a claim or other workers’ compensation questions, please 
call 800-775-2667.

The DWC does not discriminate against individuals with disabilities as 
mandated by P.L. 101-336, the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Fraudulent action on the part of an employer, employee or any other 
person, is unlawful and subject to punishment as provided by law. If you 
suspect fraud, contact DWC offices, or call the Fraud and Noncompliance 
Unit.
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Division Offices
3315 West Truman Blvd. 
P.O. Box 58 
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0058 
573-751-4231 
Toll-free: 800-775-COMP (2667)

3102 Blattner Dr., Suite 101 
Cape Girardeau, MO 63703-6348 
573-290-5757

3311 Texas Avenue 
Joplin, MO 64804-4343 
417-629-3032

1410 Genessee St., Suite 210 
Kansas City, MO 64102-1047 
816-889-2481

1736 East Sunshine, Suite 610 
Springfield, MO 65804-1333 
417-888-4100

3737 Harry S. Truman Blvd. 
Suite 300 
St. Charles, MO 63301-4096 
636-940-1999

525 Jules St., Room 315 
St. Joseph, MO 64501-1900 
816-387-2275

111 N. Seventh St., Room 250 
St. Louis, MO 63101-2170 
314-340-6865



Contact Information

Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation 
P.O. Box 58 

Jefferson City MO 65102 
573-751-4231 

Website: labor.mo.gov/DWC 
Toll-free: 800-775-COMP (2667)

Dispute Management Unit 
P.O. Box 58 

Jefferson City MO 65102 
Phone: 573-526-4951

Fraud and Noncompliance Unit 
P.O. Box 1009 

Jefferson City MO 65102 
Toll-free: 800-592-6003

The Missouri Bar Lawyer Referral Service 
573-636-3635 

(Statewide referrals except for 
St. Louis City, St. Louis County and Greene County)

The St. Louis Metropolitan Bar Lawyer Referral Service 
314-621-6681 

(St. Louis City and St. Louis County)

The Springfield Metropolitan Bar Lawyer Referral Service 
417-831-2783 

(Greene County)

Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation is an equal opportunity 
employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to 

individuals with disabilities.    TDD/TTY: 800-735-2966   Relay Missouri: 711

WC-101 (05-21)  AI

https://labor.mo.gov/dwc



