MISSOURI DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRIAL RELATIONS

DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS

CERTIFICATE TO EMPLOY A CHILD 14 OR 15 YEARS OF

AGE DURING SCHOOL TERM

P.O. Box 449

Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449

Phone: 573-751-3403
Fax: 573-751-3721

Email: laborstandards@labor.mo.gov

Website: labor.mo.gov/youth-employment

Section A: Employee Information (Student)

Youth Name

Parent/Guardian Name

Home Address (Street, City, State, ZIP Code)

Home Address (Street, City, State, ZIP Code)

Parent Phone No. Parent Email Youth Date of Birth Youth Age
School Attended by Student City, State, ZIP Code
Youth Signature Parent/Guardian Signature Date

Section B: Employer Information (Intention to Employ)

Employer Name Employer Email

Phone No.

Business Address (Street, City, State, ZIP Code)

County

Business Type

Type of Job Offered (Include specific duties. See Chapter 294.040 of the Missouri Revised Statutes (RSMo) for prohibited occupations.)

Please check the boxes below to indicate that you understand and comply with these statutory requirements of Chapter

294, RSMo.
[ ] No more than 3 hours on any school day.
[_] No more than 8 hours on any nonschool day.
[ ] No more than 40 hours in a week.
[ ] No more than 6 work days in a week.

[] Hours must be between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. during non-school term.
[ ] Hours must be between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. during school term.

I certify that I understand and will abide by the statutory requirements of Chapter 294, RSMo.

Employer or Authorized Agent Signature Printed Name Date
Section C: Issuing Officer
Name of School District (if applicable) I:‘ Proof of Child’s Age (List)
|:| Certificate of Grades Reviewed
Name of Issuing Officer Title Fax Number

Address (Street, City, State, ZIP Code)

Issuing Officer Email

Phone Number

I certify that I understand the requirements in existing law for issuing a work certificate and find these requirements met with regard

to this statement.
Authorizing Signature:

Date:

DISTRIBUTION: ORIGINAL - EMPLOYER; ONE COPY - SCHOOL DISTRICT;

ONE COPY - DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS
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Instructions

Work certificates are required regardless of where a child attends school (public school, private school, charter school,
home school). Work certificates must be issued by either (1) the public school superintendent of the school district in
which the child resides, (2) the chief executive officer of the charter school that the child attends, (3) the public or private
school principal of the school that the child attends, (4) the designee of any of these school officials, or (5) if the child is
home-schooled, a parent of the child. The public school superintendent of the school district in which the child resides

may revoke a work certificate issued by a public or private school principal, if that is deemed to be in the best interest of
the child.

Instructions for completing the certificate are as follows:
Step 1: Complete Section A of the form, including the signature of the child’s parent or guardian.
Step 2: Take the form to the employer for completion of Section B.

Note: Federal child labor law, while similar to the Missouri child labor laws, contains differing restrictions.
Employers should contact the U.S. Department of Labor regarding compliance with federal child labor law.
Website: www.dol.gov

Step 3: After Sections A and B are completed, take the form to one of the individuals identified above as having
authority to issue a work certificate for completion of Section C. The following information will also be required
at that time:

e Proof of the child’s age (birth certificate or other evidence).

Additionally, the following information may be required by the issuing officer:

e Attendance of a parent or guardian with the child at the time the child applies for a certificate. Check
with the issuing officer for his or her policy.

e A certificate from the principal of the school that the child attends setting out the child’s grades.
(This requirement may be waived for home-schooled children.)

e A certificate from a physician that has personally examined the child stating that the child is in good
mental and physical health and is capable of performing labor without injury to his or her health and
mental development. Check with the issuing officer for his or her policy.

Step 4: After all three sections of the form have been completed, the original must be provided to the child’s employer.
The issuing officer must retain a copy, and a copy must be submitted to:

laborstandards@]labor.mo.gov
or
Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
Division of Labor Standards
P.O. Box 449
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449

For more information on Missouri’s child labor laws contact the Division of Labor Standards:
Phone: 573-751-3403 Email: laborstandards@labor.mo.gov Website: labor.mo.gov/youth-employment

Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations is an equal opportunity employer/program.
TDD/TTY: 800-735-2966 Relay Missouri: 711
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Instrucciones

Se requieren certificados de trabajo independientemente del lugar donde el nifio asista a la escuela (escuela publica,
escuela privada, escuela semiautonoma, escuela en casa). Los certificados de trabajo deben ser emitidos por (1) el
superintendente de la escuela publica del distrito escolar en el que reside el nifio, (2) el director ejecutivo de la escuela
semiautonoma a la que asiste el niflo, (3) el director de la escuela publica o privada a la que asiste el nifio, (4) la persona
designada por cualquiera de estos funcionarios escolares o (5) si el nifio estudia en casa, uno de los padres del nifio. El
superintendente de la escuela publica del distrito escolar en el que reside el nifio puede revocar un certificado de trabajo
emitido por el director de una escuela publica o privada, si se considera que eso es lo mejor para el nifio.

Las instrucciones para completar el certificado son las siguientes:
Paso 1: Complete la seccion A del formulario, incluida la firma del padre/madre o tutor del nifio.
Paso 2: Lleve el formulario al empleador para que complete la Seccion B.

Nota: La ley federal sobre trabajo infantil, si bien es similar a las leyes de trabajo infantil de Misuri, contiene
diferentes restricciones. Los empleadores deben ponerse en contacto con el Departamento de Trabajo de EE.UU.
en relacion con el cumplimiento de la ley federal de trabajo infantil.

Sitio web: www.dol.gov

Paso 3: Una vez completadas las secciones A y B, lleve el formulario a una de las personas identificadas anteriormente
como autorizadas para emitir un certificado de trabajo para que complete la Seccion C. También se requerira la
siguiente informacion en ese momento:

e Prueba de la edad del nifio (certificado de nacimiento u otra prueba).

Ademas, el oficial emisor puede solicitar la siguiente informacion:

e La presencia de un padre o tutor con el nifio en el momento en que este solicite el certificado.
Consulte con el oficial emisor su politica.

e Un certificado del director de la escuela a la que asiste el nifio en el que se indiquen las calificaciones
del nifio.
(Este requisito puede no aplicarse a los nifios que estudian en casa).

e Un certificado de un médico que haya examinado personalmente al nifio en el que conste que el nifio
se encuentra en buen estado de salud mental y fisica y que es capaz de realizar el trabajo sin dafiar su
salud ni su desarrollo mental. Consulte con el oficial emisor su politica.

Paso 4: Después de completar las tres secciones del formulario, se debe entregar el original al empleador del nifio. El
oficial emisor debe conservar una copia y otra copia debe enviarse a:

laborstandards@labor.mo.gov
0
Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
Division of Labor Standards
P.O. Box 449
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0449

Para obtener mas informacion sobre las leyes de trabajo infantil de Misuri,
comuniquese con la Divisiéon de Normas Laborales:

Teléfono: 573-751-3403 Correo electronico: laborstandards@labor.mo.gov Sitio web: labor.mo.gov/youth-employment

El Departamento del Trabajo y Relaciones Industriales de Missouri es un empleador/programa de igualdad de oportunidades.
TDD/TTY: 800-735-2966 Relay Missouri: 711
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